top of page

Class 9 Progress


First I experimented with gizmos. I created an account with Nukepedia and looked through the gizmo library. I found this one that looked interesting and it is a channel mixes that breaks down the red, blue, and green channel further. I downloaded the gizmo file.



Because I work on a map, the best way to get the hidden Nuke folder is to search in the library. The best way to get to this menu is cmd + shift + G. After getting the menu option, searching ~/.nuke will take you to the folder.


I placed the gizmo download in here.


Finally I needed to restart my nuke file and under plugins, choose update and it showed.



This gizmo allows me to have more control of the individual channels and so I cracked up some of the attributes to clearly see a difference.




Starting on getting things set up for project 2. I began by creating my HDRI in photoshop but the automate option and tweaking the settings.



and then cropping it to be used.


I began by creating an image plane within my camera and matched the cube. I placed my cube around 4 x 4 inches.


Learning from my previous mistake, I made sure I knew what the correct focal length was so I can accurately set up my perspective. This was found in the get info tab.




This is what my cube set up looks like:



My next step was to match the sphere to use as a great ball and a chrome ball to match up the hdri.


My next step for this project is to set up the light dome and get the Stanford model in the scene. Then it will primarily be making the shader as accurate to my rock.


I also experimented with Vernell technique for glass and subsurface.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page