top of page

The Mill X SCAD: Week 3 Review

Updated: Oct 3, 2023

Team Lightning

Phirada Kanjanangkulpunt: FX Artist


Thomas Green: Lighting / LookDev. Artist


Drew Daly: Compositor


9/27/2023

This week we focused on getting more references for our FX and LookDev. Reference is extremely important when working the guide the work process.


Current update on the pyrospread technique






Lightning reference:








Lightning on car commercial reference:




Car spinning out reference for our animator:




Youtube Short:


Race car spinning out:


Mustang Spinning out and stopping


9/30/23


I tried to find more reference that accurately represents what I am going for


This reference can be used for the overall look of the lightning, but it does not show the traveling on the contours.


This team worked with The Mill during a collaboration class and this is a good example of the effect moving down a contour.of a vehicle.


Although it is a person, this is good reference for the lightning traveling down an object, therefore emphasizing certain aspects of that said object.


I found this interesting tutorial that we could possibly reference for the look of the lightning:



I am currently working on my process to have the lightning travel on a path.

I am using pyrospread to create the path of active and nonactive parts of the car. The battery is in the undercarriage of the car so it will be traveling up from there.


This pyrospread can be refined, but I wanted to make sure I got the technique down. I deleted the parts of the car that I did not want the lightning on to emphasize specific parts of the car.


I want to use the totalburn attribute to limit which curves that the lightning can take when it is randomized based on when the total burn is less than 1.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page