top of page

Harbor Picture Company X SCAD: Week 5 Review

Updated: Mar 1, 2023

As we head straight into midterm week, my group had the meeting with the mentors and got some great feedback about our look dev, camera movement, and fx. This week I will continue focusing on the spritz to get it as solid as possible. The main focus is the timing and having the spritz stop after a good spray, not keep going as if you're in a middle school boys locker room. I also need to work the shape of the spritz so it does not look too cone shaped.



I tried to increase the turbulence, and decrease the velocity within the pop source node and increasing wind velocity and noise attributes in the pop wind node.





Currently, I have been experimenting with the timing of the spritz so it is not too short for a commercial but not too long by key framing the birth rate. This is an example of it being too short in the shot.






I got the timing well enough to start experimenting with the noise and wind attributes. This was my first test.


I am also checking frequently in the redshift render view to get an actual comparison of what it looks like while I am working. It is still cone shaped and I am working on trying to make it more like my reference.



I began experimenting with pop drag instead of pop wind to try to see if it would make a difference. WIth pop wind, I was getting strange glitches during my flipbook. The pop drag did work better, but I would still like to add noise in the future.


Because I wanted the particles to stay airborne longer, I was manipulated the gravity node to have less an affect on them. Then my next step would be to try to continue this experimentation process then try to add back the pop wind or noise.







17 views0 comments
bottom of page