top of page

Harbor Picture Company X SCAD: Week 4 Review

Updated: Mar 1, 2023

Link to my teammates blogs:


Dee Divakaran: Motion Media./ 3D Generalist


Galina Bovykina: FX Artist


Emma Schaberg: Lighter and Modeler


This week my teammates and I all choose priority shots that each of us would work on for this week to get the furthest we can as efficiently as possible. For this week, I mainly focused on shot 3 with the spritz work, since I focused on the fluid this past week. This is our composite for this week.




This is my current flipbook progress with both the particles and the pyro







To begin, I looked up some forums to try to get some information on other peoples spritz techniques and I had a really hard time finding any information other than these two posts.


One of them mentioned to have particles as the base effect and using pyro along with it. I found a reference that became the jumping off point for the particle/pyro effect.





Looking at my references that we took at the mall, visualized here:






First I started with the particles and created a torus that was transformed next to the nozzle to emit from.


I wanted to get the initial shape of the particles. We decided to render it with the nozzle facing the side so that the spritz does not go into the camera.


These are the first video and photo of the first render pass. I began tweaking the shape of the particles to look a little more like my reference and changing either the shape, birth rate, or the size, of each particle.



This is the basic set up for the pop solver. The collusion still needs to be fixed, but it is a start.


The pyro is the heaviest part of this shot. I wanted to try to connect the particles that were emitted in the popnet to be the pyro source.





This is the first pass of the pyro. The flipbook showed the movement of the pyro and what I learned was that it grew overtime, almost absorbing the bottle.


To tweak this I experimented with the particle size and birth rate along with the dissipation.. This test was even less particles and smaller. I had increased the cooling rate along with the turbulence and dissipation.




This looked even less than how I wanted it. Increasing the particles was the way to go as it creates a bigger cloud effect, which is what I am going for. So I increased the particles.







10 views0 comments
bottom of page